Nature’s Chaos Control

Mother Nature is the ultimate chaos controller.  Yes, she can create such chaos with hurricanes, tornados, and blizzards, but Mother Nature has a gentle calm side too.   I love that after a huge rain storm, there is a time of peace and calmness.  During those moments I love to take the time to listen to the birds chirp in the backyard, the kids play on a nearby playground or just the wind blowing a curtain.  By listening to my environment, I can think clearer and concentration on the task at hand.  Many of us love to listen to the TV for noise, or a radio tuned to our favorite stations, but when was the last time you listened to silence?

When I was growing up, my mom would always ask in the car if we could listen to silence.  I would chuckle and think, “Why would anyone want to do that?” It’s boring, too quiet and I might miss my favorite song on the radio. (You see this was before MP3 players, satellite radio, and compact disks.  It was a big thing to hopefully catch your current favorite song on the radio. And to be able to record without the DJ talking during it was a huge bonus. I’m ancient, I know.)  As the saying goes…Mom does know best.  There are times when I long to listen to silence or nature.  To hear the world around me without the distract of radio ads, kids screaming, or the same question that has been answered at least 10 times.

Since returning from my summer vacation, I have made some profound changes in my daily routine.  I seem to have more energy, mental energy to really think, and can stay focused for a longer period of time.  What have I been doing?  Mostly just hanging out with nature.   As I stated before, our family unplugged from technology for a week.  Now back at home, I am constantly asking if we can turn off the TV.  To me now it is just noise that makes my mind feel scrambled.  Don’t get me wrong, I still watch some TV, it is just not on all the time.  The mornings are filled with a cup of coffee on the deck listening to the birds and neighbors work in their yards.  When it gets too hot to leave windows open, I then turn on some music. 

Nature has a way of showing us peace and understanding.   Mark your calendar!  On August 15 (National Relaxation Day) find a peaceful spot and pursure the sounds of silence or nature. 

Silence strengthens our powers of attention…and helps our brains grow.” – George Prochnik, author of In Pursuit of Slience: Listening for a Meaning in a World of Noise

 

Have lunch in a park, take a stroll after dinner or just work in your yard.  Even the roar of a distant lawnmower can be quite soothing.

I challenge you to take some time this week to enjoy Mother Nature’s sounds and share how it helps in controlling the chaos around you!  I can’t wait to hear your thoughts.

About chaoscontrol5

I am your typical busy mom . As the mother of 3 boys, I am constantly on the go, juggling all of life activities. I recently started over w
This entry was posted in mediate, mind clutter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

