New Year’s Resolutions

Can you believe that it is almost the end of January?  It seems we were just enjoying the holidays with all of our friends and family.  Of course, with the end of the holidays, most of us make our New Year’s resolutions.  We all start out with the best of intentions only to have life get hectic and all our hopes and dreams of improvement fall to the wayside. 

I returned home from a two week vacation ready to get my house completely cleaned up, cleaned out, and looking like a page from the magazine.  You know the one, everything is in its place, no toys laying about, desk neatly organized with fresh flowers and no dirty dishes in the sink.  Well I can honestly tell you that my house doesn’t look like a magazine spread and I don’t think it ever will.  With 3 boys, 2 dogs and a crazy busy schedule, some days I am lucky to be showered and have the laundry done. 

My NEW New Year’s resolution is to spend 10 minutes a couple days a week cleaning one thing.  For example, on Monday, I cleaned out all the old products in the bathroom.  It seems my family has started a collection of half empty shampoo bottles, several opened lotions (all the same brand) and does each person need their own tube of toothpaste?  It took me under 10 minutes but now I feel lighter.  Another upside, I now have a mental inventory of what I have and what I might need to pick up on my next trip to the store. I challenge you to try this in your home. I can’t wait to hear the results.

About chaoscontrol5

I am your typical busy mom . As the mother of 3 boys, I am constantly on the go, juggling all of life activities. I recently started over w
This entry was posted in organizing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Tawnya says:

    In regards to the half empty shampoo bottles and lotions you can add household cleaners, some food items, clothes, toys, the list goes on and on. For the very reason of wanting to declutter and honestly being so strapped financially that I was forced to NOT purchase any of these products or items unless it was empty, moldy, worn out, not used, etc. I noticed for the first time a feeling of gratification in completely using up all the shampoo or lotion or cleaner! In the past I felt I needed more or a different kind, I wasn't content with what I had. Seriously, is there a reason to have, like you mentioned, toothpaste for each member of the family? or a bottle of hand soap and 2 or 3 backups under the sink? Prioritizing your consumerism will help in the chaos of organization! 🙂

Leave a Reply

